Revising the Blurb with Truman Capote

“I believe more in the scissors than I do in the pencil.” – Truman Capotesmallextracover

I posted my blurb for my mystery novel The Extra on my author’s website a couple of wee
ks ago, and then I read it again. Something was awry.

It was fine for the first three sentences, right up through the question “How will a schoolmarm turned Hollywood hopeful ever find a way to win out against the press, the police, and the movie-going public, all working steamroll her into the electric chair?

Sure, they were three longish sentence. Short sentences can be jerky reads in the early sections of any piece of writing, the periods/full stops acting like stop signs, when I’d like the reader to drive right on through to the end. But a fourth long sentence read like sitting through three lights in a row. I vowed to check all my paragraphs for lack of rhythm, from now to the rest of my life.

What to do, what to do about the fourth sentence? My fussing worrypot mind said, How can I rewrite this? How how how? But my writer’s mind had it sorted. Take the darned sentence out.

And end with a short one.

Underdog heroine Frankie Ray runs away to Silver Screen Hollywood to test her conviction that a girl who lacks glamour but has talent and an enterprising attitude can make it in the movies. But when a womanizing matinee idol turns up dead on her sofa, her career hopes shatter and Frankie stands accused of murder.

How will a schoolmarm turned Hollywood hopeful ever find a way to win out against the press, the police, and the movie-going public, all working steamroll her into the electric chair?

By using every acting trick she knows.

Leave a Reply

