Along the Writer’s Heroic Journey, It’s Never Too Soon to Give Back

DragonRocktitlepicsmallIt is never too soon to start giving back. In fact, in order to feel happy and at home within smaller and larger communities of writers, it’s a good idea to begin immediately, even if you’re only drafting Chapter One of your first novel.

The simplest and most convenient way to give back is to begin writing reviews of the books you read and enjoyed. Whether you’ve bought the book or borrowed it, if you loved it, then write a review. Post your reviews on worldwide platforms like Amazon and Goodreads. Try to do this often, and review the famous as well as those not so well known. I like to think that if Lee Child doesn’t notice my positive review of his latest thriller, it’s only because he is so busy writing a new one. And anyway, he’s finding ways of giving back as well.

And if I read a book that is not up to my personal idea of snuff, I say nothing.

Here’s why. I love my editors to be tough on my writing and storytelling, but I hope all that work results in a book my readers love. For, if we’re critics, of course we must be critical. But if we’re fellow writers, then we would do well to encourage one another.

And there’s never been a better time to do it. I love this century.

I hope it’s another brilliant writing week for you. Cheers Mel.

The Writer’s Journey by Christopher Vogler, I beg you not to miss it.

Leave a Reply

