Writing Time, Part 36. Our Own Plans for a Writing Life

writerwithwillowssmall“If you don’t design your own life plan, chances are you’ll fall into someone else’s plan. And guess what they’ve got planned for you? Not much.” –Jim Rohn

Writing out goals shapes my days’ work. It shapes my days as well. I’m always on the lookout for ways to shake up my day planning and goal setting for this writer’s life.

Last week I sat in the garden, gazing at the overgrown ivy. I mused on authors’ careers, thinking All writers make something out of nothing. Writers aren’t the only ones who do so, but it’s an exciting thought. Pretty daring stuff.

And, within the same writing career, it’s an honourable business to work to support the creating of something new, for one’s own work, and for others’ careers as well.

A rough list for creation: drafting chapters, outlining, goal setting, writing blogs, writing marketing plans, developing any new skill or superpower, such as bookkeeping.

For supporting creation: Typing up, revising own and others’ work, reviewing the week, polishing, marketing, publishing, bookkeeping.

Every profession claims lists like these. As I try to fit these activities into my week, I can’t help reflecting that’s no wonder some professions come with assistants.

I hope it’s another great writing week for you. Cheers Mel

muse smallThis week from @yourwritingmuse: You write intriguing dialogue. Great exchanges of power. I want to read and never stop. Kudos from your Writing Muse.

Leave a Reply

